Gaming principles in real life and education

A week ago, I was lucky enough to attend Game in the City 2010, a conference about game developing. While I’m not an active game developer myself, I am always interested in the latest news about it and in the inspiration that developers find for their newest games.

The flag in front of Game in the City 2010

There were a lot of very interesting talks, but I think that perhaps some of the most interesting ones were those that talked about getting players motivated. Which is rather like what I’m trying to accomplish with my project. I want to motivate students to collaborate and work together, so they can learn better and get through their studies in a more fun and efficient way.

The conference got me to watch three TED-talks that talk about using games in real life and I consider these talks a great inspiration.

Jesse Schell: The future is beautiful

Seth Priebatsch: The game layer on top of the world

Tom Chatfield: 7 ways games reward the brain

Leave a comment